Rural Memories not enough in the Big City

I moved to a big city in my late 20’s, it was a decision that I simply had to make for my career. Coming from a small rural farming town in Northern California i would never have imagined that I would move out to the desert. Las Vegas as luck would have it has given me the ability to grow as a person and as a professional. Here I have found my way through the city in more ways than none back home, although prices are different in just about everything, for the better of course. Life in the big city is different, people are different, community is different, social life is very different. For example, back home I was social, had more friends that one would want regardless of the fact that my friends lived 10-15 miles away but we somehow managed to stay social. 

Now that I’m living in a much bigger city, my social life has really taken a dump. I honestly have very few friends since I moved here three years ago. I guess living in a bigger city can have its toll on social life because people work at all hours of the day and night and meeting someone for coffee is hard enough. Not to mention the fact that the city is so spread out that just making a simply dinner arrangement is difficult because most people simply do not like to drive 8-15 miles away to meetup for dinner or lunch. 

How do you handle the stress of city life with no social life?

Leave a Reply

