Social Media, clean up your friend list.

I get it, being social is part of being human, it is in our nature to be friendly, kind, and respectful to those around us and to strangers. Although, today technology allows friends, family, and coworkers the ability to stay in touch through social media outlets that enable the thirst of gossip from the convenience of our own mobile devices. We have become lazy in the way that we prefer to send a text or an e-mail rather than speaking or confronting our enemy. I’ve seen this, people spill their feelings and emotions onto the web as if they were confiding in their best friend to keep a secret.

But when is it too much, I once had a Facebook account, from which I was practically bullied into signing up into it because it was the thing to do at the time. I had friends and they added me I commented and followed their updates, like-ing and re-posting their garbled thoughts and emotions. But when I posted something interesting or educational, it was never even commented, liked, or even re-posted. At first I kept saying to myself, maybe people are just busy, my friends are just not online at the time. Maybe I was a bit naive and a little on the denial side of things. See my friends were never my friends, they just added or accepted me because I used to work for an entertainment company, and most people I new where connected in one way or another with the nightlife, or my ex.

But now that I have unplugged myself from the selfishness that is Facebook, I am able to see things from a different perspective. Social media is not just about posting things, latest gadget you just bought or work related content. But rather, social media should be used in a way that engages your audience from a personal level. Some of us have actually taken the social media outlet and transformed it into a social hub for friends, strangers, and family.

What my point is here, is to address the fact that people use social media for the wrong reasons. I say use Facebook, Twitter, Reddit, Linkedin, and what ever else, but use it for the pleasure of expressing yourself in ways that make you the individual. Engage your readers and “pookers” for an awesome ride of who you really are. Basically, “Live daily by the rhythm of your own music”.

Honestly, take a look at your friend list, Tell yourself are they really my friends or just an online connection with no meaning but a link!

Leave a Reply

